Rewarding year for Prevention Centre network in 2023



TYPE Prevention Centre News

King’s Birthday 2023 Honours

Prevention Centre Co-Director Professor Andrew Wilson AO was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to medicine through public health leadership, to regulatory bodies, and to tertiary education.

New appointments as Members of the Order of Australia included Professor Rebecca Ivers AM for significant service to community health through injury prevention research and education, Professor Danielle Mazza AM for significant service to medicine and to medical research, particularly to women’s health, and Professor Anna Peeters AM for significant service to community health, particularly obesity research.

Research Action Awards
Professor Gary Sacks received a 2023 Sax Institute Research Action Award for advancing obesity prevention policy

NSW Premier’s Awards
Professor Cathie Sherrington received the Excellence in Medical Biological Sciences award at the NSW Premier’s Prizes for Science and Engineering

Victorian Premier’s Awards
Associate Professor Jaithri Ananthapavan won the Public Health Researcher Award in the Victorian Premier’s Awards for Health and Medical Research

Young Tall Poppy Science Award
Dr Vicki Brown was awarded a Victorian Young Tall Poppy Science Award by the Australian Institute of Policy & Science 

National Awards for Planning Excellence
Members of the Global Healthy and Sustainable City-Indicators Collaboration, including Distinguished Professor Billie-Giles Corti and Carl Higgs, were awarded the Planning Research Award at the Planning Institute of Australia’s National Awards for Planning Excellence 2023

Tony McMichael Public Health Ecology and Environment Award
The award was presented to the MJA-Lancet Countdown on Health and Climate Change team of authors including Professor Lucie Rychetnik and Maddie Heenan at the Public Health Association of Australia’s Public Health Conference

PHRP Excellence Awards 
Emeritus Professor Adrian Bauman, Dr Briony Hill, Professor Gary Sacks and Professor Louise Baur AM were awarded for ‘best papers’ in the Public Health & Research Practice (PHRP) journal

Engagement Australia Excellence Awards
An international network led by Professor Helena Teede AM won the Excellence in International Engagement Award

We are also delighted to share in the success of our Prevention Works podcast host Dr Gretchen Miller, who won the Interview category of the Australian Podcast Awards as well as the overall Australian Podcast of the Year for her other podcast projects. We are thrilled to have been working with her since 2018 on the topic of prevention.  

Congratulations all!